Sweet Baboo Returns with New Album ‘Wild Imagination’ In June

A couple of years on from his “supercalifragilisticexpialidocious” album ‘The Boombox Ballads’, North Wales native Stephen Black, better known as Sweet Baboo, is gearing up to release his brand new LP.

‘Wild Imagination’ is due out on 2nd June via Moshi Moshi and it’s been designed as something of an antidote to our turbulent, sometimes dark times. Stephen explained: “I think everyone agrees 2016 was a pretty shitty year. I kept thinking about my son (he’s nearly 3) and wanting to protect him from the world, so I decided to try and make an album full of positivity because that’s what I know I can do. And at the moment, I don’t know what else to suggest. As an aside, the album was originally going to be called Positive Recordings.” See the tracklisting for ‘Wild Imagination’ below.

1. The Gardener
2. Wild Imagination
3. Swallows
4. Badminton
5. Clear Blue Skies
6. The Night Gardener
7. Hold On
8. Pink Rainbow
9. Humberside
10. Californ-i-a

In addition, Stephen has shared the sweet, lo-fi new single ‘Badminton,’ and he’s announced a UK tour to coincide with the release of ‘Wild Imagination.’ He’ll be heading to Ramsgate, Brighton, London, Cardiff and Bristol before rounding off at Manchester’s Soup Kitchen on 18th June. Tickets go on sale from 10am on Friday 24th March.

Listen to ‘Badminton’ and see all of Sweet Baboo’s upcoming UK tour dates below.


13 Ramsgate, Ramsgate Music Hall
14 Brighton, The Prince Albert
15 London, The Lexington
16 Cardiff, Clwb Ifor Bach
17 Bristol, Thekla
18 Manchester, Soup Kitchen

Source: DIY Mag