Winery Dogs Dog Years Live In Santiago and Beyond 2013 2016

With this week’s announcement of the formation of the band Sons of Apollo that includes two of the Winery Dogs‘ three members (drummer Mike Portnoy and bassist Billy Sheehan), it might be a while before we hear any new music from the Dogs.

Loud & Proud Records

Sons of Apollo will be releasing an album this fall and plan on touring extensively in 2018, and the Winery Dogs vocalist/guitarist Richie Kotzen is focusing on his solo career. That means Dog Years: Live in Santiago & Beyond 2013-2016 will have to tide over fans of the Winery Dogs for a while.

There are a couple of different editions available. One includes a DVD of a concert filmed in Chile in May of 2016 along with an EP of five previously unreleased studio tracks. The special edition has a Blu-ray, DVD, EP and a 2CD edition of the concert audio.

South America is a great place to film a DVD because of the passion of the fans. The crowd at the packed Teatro Cariola in Santiago is appreciative and loud, energizing the band. The setlist of the 100 minute show is equally divided between their 2013 self-titled debut and 2015’s Hot Streak.

When it comes to musicianship, it doesn’t get much better than the Winery Dogs. Sheehan is a virtuoso and Portnoy is a monster behind the kit. Both get a few extra minutes in the spotlight with extended solos. Kotzen can shred when needed, and is outstanding at any tempo. He was in Poison and Mr. Big back in the day and has released more than 20 solo albums that span genres including rock, jazz and fusion. He’s also an excellent vocalist with a bluesy style and a pretty strong set of pipes.

In addition to the concert, the DVD also includes eight music videos, including “I’m No Angel,” “’Desire,” “Elevate” and “Hot Streak.” As for the EP, the previously unreleased songs don’t seem to be throwaways. Opener “Criminal” has a funky bottom end and lengthy solo from Kotzen finishing out the song, while “The Game” is packed with proggy moments.

The acoustic ballad “Solid Ground” may not have fit the flow on a studio album, but bridges things nicely on a short EP. “Love Is Alive” is a cover of the 1975 Gary Wright song, and adding a harder edge while keeping the prog flavor works well. The EP closes with another cover, the David Bowie classic “Moonage Daydream.”

Hopefully, the Winery Dogs will eventually regroup and record again, but Dog Years: Live in Santiago & Beyond 2013-2016 is a nice treat for fans in the meantime. The live show captures their skill and passion, it’s a quality setlist, and fans will appreciate the unreleased tracks.

See Where Mike Portnoy Ranks Among the Top 50 Hard Rock + Metal Drummers of All Time

The Winery Dogs Talk Hot Streak Album + More

Source: Loud Wire

Winery Dogs Dog Years Live In Santiago and Beyond 2013 2016

The dog days of summer are heating up, and the members of The Winery Dogs are all off touring the world with other projects. Never fear, dog lovers! Like a freshly filled kiddie pool on a sweltering summer day, relief is on the horizon. The Winery Dogs have announced a new DVD concert film, set for release on August 4th. Dog Years: Live In Santiago & Beyond 2013-2016, is a nearly 100 minute excursion into their two studio albums.

Recorded in Santiago Chile in May of 2016, on their last world tour, this set is a complete glimpse into an entire show that you can’t get from a one or two song video from the internet. Everything you would expect is here. Richie Kotzen’s unique guitar skills and soulful voice are well on display. Also present is Mike Portnoy’s intricate timekeeping on the drums, as well as his playful hamming for the camera. Billy Sheehan’s fingers roam the entire neck of his bass guitar. It would be a mistake to only expect the expected from this DVD set, however.

This is a trio of accomplished musicians, and their “side project” is meant to play live. There is a tremendous energy that the three create. The Winery Dogs are able to deliver pitch perfect harmonizing vocals. Sheehan and Kotzen exhibit one of their signature sounds, simultaneous noodling in several songs. It appears as though, for each of the individuals, The Winery Dogs is a vehicle for each of them to play in a style, free from rigorous construct, and allow each of them to express themselves in ways they might not otherwise be able. Yet, the songs are tight and the walls of song structure are never damaged.

The opening number, Oblivion, sets the tone for the set, with high energy and a catchy chorus. In the middle of the set, Time Machine hits on all cylinders with its sinister riff and haunting vocals. There are a few slower songs mid-set. One of these is Fire, which is performed with just Kotzen and an acoustic guitar on the stage. The other is Think it Over, this tune demonstrates Kotzen’s piano skills and soulful voice. The finale of the set is Elevate, which finishes things off with great energy. The band has released a trailer for the set featuring this song on their records company’s website (link below).

The set comes in two versions, and is available for pre-order now both on and through their record company’s website (link below). There is a deluxe edition, which contains a Blu-Ray disc and one DVD of the concert, including eight music videos from their first two albums. Also included in the deluxe edition is two CD’s of the concert audio as well as a five song EP of previously unreleased songs. The standard edition is a Blu-Ray disc of the concert and the eight music videos as well as the five song EP. The EP is highlighted by a version of the Gary Wright tune from the 70’s Love is Alive. Anyone familiar with the version of Elvin Bishop’s, Fooled Around and Fell in Love, from their Unleashed in Japan, should appreciate this gem.

Either edition of this set should give fans of The Winery Dogs a bone to chew on until the pack is back.


  1. Oblivion
  2. Captain Love
  3. We Are One
  4. Hot Streak
  5. How Long
  6. Time Machine
  7. Empire
  8. Fire
  9. Think It Over
  10. Mike Portnoy Drum Solo
  11. The Other Side
  12. Billy Sheehan Bass Solo
  13. Ghost Town
  14. I’m No Angel
  15. Elevate
  16. Regret
  17. Desire


Time Machine
I’m No Angel
Captain Love
Hot Streak


  1. Criminal
  2. The Game
  3. Solid Ground
  4. Love Is Alive
  5. Moonage Daydream

Source: Screamer Magazine